What The Hell

The other day I read a post on a forum that was advertising for roleplayers for Midian.  Although I was only going to observe and have a chat with the people who posted the ads I still had to dress the part.  Not only is it considered proper etiquette to try to blend in when observing a roleplay sim but it’s a big part of getting the vibe for me.  My most successful characters were those I could really feel.  Roleplay is a gut thing for me.  Left brain, right brain, pshaw.  My creativity lives in my core.  A new sim, a new character, required a makeover even just to observe. 

I wasn’t about to spend a lot of money since I didn’t even know what I wanted to play yet so I ransaked my inventory for my go to comfy jeans, Mon Tissu of course.  I put on the new group gift skin from Al Vulo that I hadn’t tried on yet because I find it really helps me create a new character if I have a new skin. I’m strange, I know. Then I started randomly tossing on styles from my big Folder-O-Hair.

As I stood in the skybox arrival area above Midian I sent her an IM.  “I have to go home and change.  I accidentally look like Avril Lavigne and it’s freaking me out”.

She laughed and told me to come down anyway so I did. Then she saw me “OMG you do!”  Well, we couldn’t stop laughing.  She even had her partner cam on me to have a look and he got silly making up alternative lyrics to Skaterboi.  I don’t know if I could have made a better look-alike avie if I had been trying.  I was channeling this video all night.

If you’ve been around the RP circuit in SL for any length of time you’ve probably played in Midian or at least visited.  Midian has had it’s ups and downs over the years and most recently a significant down where some actually though it might close completely.  A group of dedicated members kept it going though and now are trying to breathe new life into it.  The rules were updated in August and the sim is moving towards a more dystopian feel and the story picks up 5 years after the riots destroyed much of what we knew to be Midian.  The roleplay story centers around rebuilding and a shortage of supplies but the main sim build itself remains pretty much how I remember it when I used to play there last year.

It actually felt good to walk around Midian again, like being home in a way. I had some good times there in the past. It was a lot less busy than I remember but that can be a good thing sometimes. One complaint I occasionally heard in the past about Midian was that it was cliquish or exclusive, that it was difficult to break in a new character, but that’s often the comment about busy or popular sims. However, now that it’s less busy and going through its own rebirth of sorts it’s a great time to drop in a new character.

I received several friendly IMs asking if I needed help or had any questions and offering to help me come up with a backstory. There is a good vibe there, an energetic one. I think the new story of the group of survivors cleaning up after riots and bartering for what’s left of supplies will really bring the community of players together and will very naturally create roleplay opportunities.

It was a good night. I haven’t laughed that hard in ages and I had fun taking pictures. I’m by no means an SL photographer and photoediting is another new thing I’m learning as we go here. I have a few ideas floating around in my head of characters I could try in Midian but I think it’s too soon for me to commit to anywhere. It wouldn’t be fair to them or to me. No, no I think I’m going to wish them a lot of luck but keep on this journey I’ve started. I’m excited by the idea of this Renoobed project and I have a long list of things to do yet.

Midian City http://slurl.com/secondlife/Midian%20City/165/84/522

Al Vulo http://slurl.com/secondlife/ReMix%20Yo%20LIfe/176/158/1350

Mon Tissu http://slurl.com/secondlife/Lula/119/99/34

Next on my list of things to discover, breedable pets.

2 comments on “What The Hell

  1. It was great to see you and yes, I was laughing my ass off, too! XD
    Great pics, and hope we get to r/p together sometime. Lemme know if there’s ever anything me or Quin can help you with, k?

Leave a Reply

