Three More Months

It’s been a busy few weeks for me in SL, though none of it seemed blog worthy at the time.  I suppose it’s my blog with only a handful of people I know checking in to read periodically, but I guess nothing really inspired me enough on it’s own to write about.  That’s probably a better way to put it.

I decided to renew my premium membership for three more months.  I know, LL is evil, blah blah, I can get a better deal renting private blah blah.  I actually didn’t have a premium account for the vast majority of my time in SL but I decided to go this route during the summer when I needed somewhere to live.  I had always lived and paid rent in RP sims, or to friends, or with my partner, I never really had a place of my own.  When I was looking, I found most were outside of my budget so I got a premium account, which allowed me to buy a little plot of mainland for almost nothing and I pay no tier on it.  I also get a weekly stipend.  It isn’t much, but it does the trick most of the time.  When I calculated it all out for myself, buying a three month membership gave me somewhere to live for free and a bit of spending money, if I used the same amount of RL money to buy $L I’d have to use it on rent which wouldn’t get me very far and I’d still probably have to buy additional for spending money.  So it works for me.

Shopping for a mainland plot was also quite the experience.  I’ll have to write about that one day when I go on another mainland tour.  There are downsides though, my little mainland plot only has 117 prims, definitely a disadvantage with my Papillon butterfly habit.  I currently have 5 breeding pairs on my plot, plus a few accessories for them like food, which leaves me… basically an empty sky box LOL.  I could give them up, but for right now I’m still enjoying them and I don’t really have anyone over to my place anyway so it isn’t a big deal. 

The butterflies have given me about 40 cocoons now.  I’m shocked how quickly it’s added up.  Most of the cocoons are stored in my inventory as I don’t have the prims to rez them into butterflies.  Each pair will give me 12 babies before they can’t breed anymore, then I pick the best two of those babies to rez and mate.  Sounds kinky, I know.  However, in the breedables game mutations are what’s valuable and the best chance of getting mutations is to breed siblings.  I did get two babies that each had a double mutation, I was tempted to try to sell them at auction just to see how it would go, but in the end I decided to keep them and breed them to each other.  Here’s hoping they give me something amazing.

 When I’m not calculating prims or trying to figure out butterfly genetics, I’m often dancing at Organica.  You’ll remember I said I met some Happy Clams at Burn2?  Well their home sim is Organica and they regularly have DJ’s there.  I’ve become somewhat addicted to the Goa psytrance music that they play.  I suppose I was aware of it before, but that “click” moment I had when listening to it at Burn has me hooked and I’m often popping in on them to get another fix.  It’s funny because I don’t chat too much when I’m there, although everyone is really friendly, but I do find just watching my avie dance and listening to the music a really relaxing and enjoyable past time.  I’ve told them I’m worried my renoobed project and my SL bucket list will suffer greatly, as I never want to leave when I’m there.  Apparently I’m not the only one, a few people I’ve met now have stories of stumbling onto Organica and never leaving.

 I’ve also been dipping my toe back into roleplay, as I noted with the log I posted below.  It’s a hesitant thing, because I have this feeling that if goes badly I’ll be done with roleplay for good, but so far I’m pleasantly surprised.  I find it so strange now that I’m not roleplaying full time, how many people want to roleplay with me.  Not just scenes either, offering full stories, my choice of sim.  I just want to smack them and scream “Where were you before I left!?”  Quite a few people are playing in Game of Thrones sim, which has some appeal to me as I loved the books, but the RP could ruin the genre for me.  It’s also the kind of roleplay that takes a pretty intensive and regular availability, big plots require a level of commitment I just don’t have right now.  Some of my favourite writers in SL are in Ascension now, a vampire type of roleplay sim.  That’s tempting too, I’ve never played in a vampire sim, but something keeps holding me back.  Myself.  I can’t think of a character I’d like to play.  Perhaps one day.

So I’ve just dusted off my gorean character and popped into the sim her storyline moved to while I was on my break.  It’s a light role, one I can do easily on a part time basis, with no pressure.  I somehow fell into an intriguing storyline, the depths of which I haven’t experienced in a very long time but it’s also making me nervous.  I’m jinxed you see.  As soon as I start looking forward to things, the rug gets ripped out from under me.  The writing is fabulous, the story intense, but I don’t know the player at all.  I think that’s what’s keeping me on the edge of my toes, at the same time that voice is warning me that he could vanish any day and the story could stop cold in it’s tracks, so not to get too comfortable in this.  For now though, I’m pretty grateful and just rolling with it.  When we run into each other, it flow like magic, when or if we don’t, that’s cool too.

I’ve also had a few well loved friends pop in to write with me.  You can’t beat that.  Whether it’s picking up and continuing stories that I’ve always enjoyed, or meeting players I like and seeing what happens, it’s working well for me to flex the old writing fingers a few days a week.

It’s a good balance, between the butterflies, Organica, roleplay and some exploring I’m doing I can’t get burned out on any one thing.  Nor do I find myself logging in and uncertain what I’d like to do, the opposite in fact, I often have too much to chose from.  

I’ve also been doing some hunts, but I’m saving that for my next post.

So where was I?  Oh yes!  I renewed my SL premium account for three more months.  I think that’s a pretty good sign that I’m starting to find reasons to continue doing this and this time, I’m actually pretty content where I am in the present and excited about where I might find myself next.

Leave a Reply

