HuMaNoiD

I stumbled on a hunt today called “The Diamond is Mine” and since hunts are one of the activities I’m doing as part of this project I decided to follow it and see where it brought me.   It was a nice easy hunt, not too long, and once I got home and unpacked I found quite a few great gifts that I’ll definitely be able to use.  One of the dresses was black and white polka dots, with a bright red belt.  Stark contrasts inspire me for some reason and I decided this look had to be photographed.  Immediately I thought of HuMaNoiD which I hadn’t visited yet but heard a lot about.

The ground level of Humanoid has a beautiful starkness that I feel changes mood depending on the lighting you chose so I took the opportunity to play around with my lighting and see what I could come up with. From eerie to nostalgic to mystical in just a few clicks.

I felt that my photos were leaning a little too much towards fashion shots, and though there is nothing wrong with that, I am trying to stretch myself and see if there is some artistic ability in me. I saw a box, a crate really, and immediately knew that’s what I was looking for. It turned out to be the perfect opportunity to play with depth of field again. I tried to show you that once before, but I think this time it was a bit more successful. With depth of field the part you focus on, this case the neck/face is in focus and the foreground and background end up a bit blurred.

I was pretty happy with how that worked out actually. I think maybe it works better on close ups because I could barely see it when I tried it on a landscape shot. Now to experiment with shadows.

That one might be one of my favorite photos I’ve done to date. It really captures that contrast inspiration I had when I set out on my journey today. I do realize a lot of my photographs tend towards a “dark” feel to them and I’m not actually a dark person so I wanted to see if my next picture could capture the idea of stark contrast but feel “light”. The dragonfly walkers (I don’t know if that’s their real name, I just made that up) on the Humanoid sim made me think of butterflies so I pulled out this free butterfly prop and pose a friend of mine showed me on Marketplace.

I think it worked out pretty well, despite my legs sort of cut off there.

You can spend an hours discovering every little nook and cranny of the HuMaNoiD sim, but that’s just the beginning. At the landing point you’ll notice about a dozen doors. If you click on them they open, and click again and you’ll be teleported to various skyboxes with different themes and moods. One of my favorites was this circus and being the clicker that I am I noticed you could swing on the trapeze, or even walk the tightrope.

Of all the shots I took today, I identify with this one the most. It’s perhaps not as nice a picture as the others but I had to include it because it really speaks to me.

Just a few more steps and I’ll be there.

Everything I have on today  is from The Diamond is Mine Hunt:  http://sophiarossen.blogspot.com/2011/11/diamond-is-mine-hunt-3.html

Butterfly Prop and Pose Free on the Marketplace:  https://marketplace.secondlife.com/p/Baffle-I-flutter-by-Freebie/2672536

The breathtaking HuMaNoiD Sim:  http://maps.secondlife.com/secondlife/Gilmour/97/120/21

4 comments on “HuMaNoiD

  1. Thanks Guys!
    When I look back to my first posts just two months ago, I can see how far I’ve come and how much I’ve learned about SL photography. I’m pretty proud of myself, no matter how vain that sounds.

    I do know it’s a LOT easier when I have quiet time to fiddle with lighting, poses and camera angles until I get everything just how I want. I still have quite a bit of room for improvement for my more candid spur of the moment action shots.

Leave a Reply

