New Projects and Experiences for the New Year

 I’ve been so busy this past week or two I feel like I need to take a moment and document all this here so I don’t forget.  It’s been great having this blog for that reason.  I can look back to so many firsts and the progress in my photography and see how much I’ve done the last few months.

First, after promising Alexial weeks ago that I would put all my Phantom of the Opera pictures on Flickr I finally got that done.  It took me a while to get all the photos uploaded, then I had them in the wrong order for the slideshow to really work well, but I think I have it now.  Take a look.

November 16th Performance  (25 pictures)
http://www.flickr.com/photos/renoobed/sets/72157628675702159/show/

December 7th Performance (50 pictures)
http://www.flickr.com/photos/renoobed/sets/72157628675274897/show/

I’ll need to back now and look through my pictures here and pick out the ones I want to add to my Flickr.

I also have an update on my Papillon breedable butterfly project.  As I noted in a few previous posts, it’s gotten a little bigger than I originally expected.  So big in fact that I’ve decided to sell some of them.  It’s hard to part with them.  When I get a really good one, or a new trait, or a rare mutation combination the urge is to hoard them and keep breeding to see what else I can come up with.

I can only manage so many at once and I’m going to specialize and focus in on certain breeding lines so I decided it was time to part with a few.  I decided to put a cocoon in an auction last week.  I usually attend auctions every Saturday at the The Breeders’ Borough but I had decided to put my baby in an auction at a new sim called Flutters Auction & MiniMall for a few scheduling reasons.  The usual Saturday auctions at The Borough were going to be Christmas Eve and New Year’s Eve so I wasn’t sure what the turnout would be.  The auctions at Flutters Minimall are on Wednesday at 1pm and since I had the week off due to holidays it was a perfect time for me to try a weekday daytime auction.  Sadly, the auctioneer got terribly ill and the auction was postponed… to this week!

I’m sure you don’t realize what that means but I’ll explain. ..

My first ever baby is going to be auctioned off tomorrow, Wednesday January 4th at 1 pm SL Time at Flutters Auctions and Minimall  and I won’t even be there!

*cries*

It’s probably a good thing though, I’d be a big ball of nerves.  What if it doesn’t sell?  What if there is some bidding war?  I’ve never been accused of underthinking.  It’s probably best that I’m at work and just find out the result after the fact.  Marhi, the sim owner, has graciously offered to serve as my proxy for the bidding.  Thank you Marhi!

So to keep myself busy I decided to rent a little booth on that same sim to sell some of my other cocoons that I won’t be including in my new specialized breeding program, or those I have doubles or triples of.  I could have just dumped them on the table, but I wanted to decorate it a bit, so this meant *gasps* building!  In case I haven’t mentioned, I can’t build.  I can edit my attachments well enough, but to make something?  No, LOL, just no.

I knew what I wanted, a shelf type deal where I could put the cocoons on three different levels.  I got the rough idea for a shape with two prims, but I knew there had to be a way to do it with one.

  

I asked a few friends, who all offered to build it for me, but that’s not the point.  I wanted to do this myself, to learn something.  I’ve gone 4+ years in SL unable to build because people do things for me.  It’s far past time I learn myself.  They suggested I hollow a prim, then cut it.

 

Looks simple right?  You don’t want to know how long that took me.  As much as I love the plywood look I figured I should go one step further and texture it.  Well, I don’t have textures.  Don’t ask, I don’t know how a person exists in SL this long without textures but I just don’t have any.  Thankfully the default library has some so I experimented with those. 

If I had known tile would be such a pain in the butt to make work on the repeats of various surfaces I would have chosen something else but the end result is not too bad actually.  I think it will work and for being the first thing I ever made I’m really proud.  Look guys, I made a … thing!

 

So I put it all together on the booth with my cocoons and the new sign I made and voila, I’m an SL business woman.

 

The cocoons are all special to me, I raised their parents, and often their grandparents too.  I’ve invested a lot of time carefully deciding which ones to pair and breed so deciding which ones to part with and pricing them took me days.  Pricing is the hardest I think.  I visited every papillon breedable seller I know to get an idea of prices and that left me more confused than ever.  I could theoretically sell my cocoons for less than others are, then they’d be sure to sell, but that felt wrong.  Perhaps I’m missing some fundamental economics gene or something but I didn’t want to undercut these people who had helped me get started on this hobby, people I’ve made friends with.  On the other hand, if I price them higher than everyone else, I’ll never sell any. 

I’m not doing this to make a fortune in Second Life.  I’ll admit I wouldn’t mind recouping some of the investment I’ve made and paying for the booth rental, but it hasn’t been an expensive hobby so far.  I win a lot of food and accessories from the rewards card so the maintenance isn’t that high and other than a few I’ve bought at auctions to get some new trait or mutations the investment in the flutters themselves hasn’t been that much.  I do live on my 300L a week premium account stipend though, if I could make another couple hundred a week that’s twice what I’m living on now so I’ll feel rich. 

No, the point isn’t too make a fortune, I’m really doing this mainly to get the full experience of breedables from beginning to end, and because honestly it’s been fun.  I feel a strange sense of accomplishment and all I did was texture a prim and put my cocoons from my hobby for sale but I still feel like I’ve accomplished something.  It’s so beneath the actual content creators in Second Life that this probably seems silly, but it’s a huge new step for me so I’m excited.  The first time I heard that cha-ching sound when someone bought one of my cocoons I jumped and then burst into a laughing fit.  I had no idea you heard a cha-ching sound when you sold something and since I wasn’t there when it happened it took me completely by surprise.

So the booth is all done, my first cocoon is set to be auctioned off tomorrow afternoon while I’m at work, but then I got some other news.  The Breeders’ Borough was going to be having a Wednesday auction this week as well, not just the usually Saturday one.  Hmm….

Cortez, one of the owners of The Borough, is a long time friend who goes back to my very early, early days in Gor and roleplay.  She introduced me to some of my first para-RP experiences, and has played with me, mentored me, and watched me grow from character to character and sim to sim.  I really do want to support her sim auctions as well so… in for a penny, in for a pound!  I put another of my cocoons in that auction as well.

This means I’m in TWO auctions tomorrow!  From no experience to two in one day just like that (insert crude joke here for my fellow dirty minded folk) but if I’m going to do this might as well go big or go home right?

I will be online for the second one so I guess I’ll have to deal with that basket of nerves experience after all.

If you wanted to check out an auction, and they are super fun to listen to because the auctioneer is on voice, or if you wanted to come hold my hand and offer moral support, or you know… buy my babies, here are the slurs.

Flutters Auctions and Minimall:  Papillon Auctions Wednesdays at 1 pm SLT

 http://slurl.com/secondlife/Little%20Star/190/82/23

The Breeders’ Borough:  Papillon Auctions Wednesday at 6 pm and Saturdays at 5 pm

http://slurl.com/secondlife/The%20Borough%20Too/140/207/23

Wish me luck!  I’ll let you know how it went after I get through tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

