PicMonkey Virgin

I’ve been reading various blog and forum posts about PicMonkey, a photo editing software. According to pretty much everyone it’s “easy”. Well pffft, I’ve been conned by that before. Most people in SL have a different definition for the word easy than I do. Learning a new photo editing software might be quick for those guys, but for me? I could be watching tutorials for a year. I’ve never used photoshop, I have tried GIMP a few times but it seems over intensive and complicated for my needs and mostly I just use Paint.net so I really doubted that I was the target audience for this PicMonkey. However, I had a bit of time on my hands tonight and wasn’t feeling overly sociable so I decided to give it a try. What’s the worst that could happen right? I quickly snapped a few basic pictures, no shadows or fancy windlight, just to use as tests. Besides, I’d been needing a reason to show you these great shirts anyway.

Before

So those are the before. This is after my first 10 minutes in PicMonkey.

V PicMonkey

I’m not even kidding. Ten minutes, tops. I typed in the website, I opened my photo, I clicked the polaroid effect button, and it’s a big button, you don’t even have to know how to do anything. Then I went to borders and clicked the polaroid, seemed to be a good match to me. Then added text. That’s it. They can’t all be this easy though, so I tried another.

M PicMonkey

You know, if I wasn’t so excited about this I might be tempted to be a wee bit annoyed. For a long time now I’ve tried really, really hard to create some of the lighting, colors, depth of field and various other effects I admire in other peoples photos solely in Second Life. Now I’m starting to realize that perhaps many of those things I’m struggling with are done in post processing. I guess I knew that, no, I did know that, but I didn’t know HOW to do it so I was beating myself up trying to make it happen in SL and I didn’t need to be.
Alright, let’s see what else this PicMonkey can do.

E PicMonkey

Can I take credit for an incredibly artistic eye for about two seconds? One Mississippi. Two Mississippi.
OK, confession time, like the others that last one had nothing to do with me. It was yet again a button I randomly clicked that cropped it that way and I went “Oh cool!” and then clicked another button which added the rusted effect over top and that was about it. I hope I’ve convinced you how easy this is and to try it if you haven’t already.

I’m not sure what this means for the future of my SL pictures. I have a feeling I’ll be playing with PicMonkey and clicking every button on every photo for a while, but I will probably settle down eventually.

The shirts in these samples are cute aren’t they? I have 5 now and I figure any SL situation is pretty much covered. They are from the Gatcha at Snatch and only 20L a pull. I think there is about a dozen in all. If you’ve never used a Gatcha think of those gumball like machines at the grocery store when you were a kid. Where you put in your quarter and hope to get the Strawberry Shortcake hair clip but got the Spiderman sticker so you played again, and again. That’s a gatcha, except in this case all the shirts are great, even if you do end up wanting to collect them all.

Pic Monkey http://www.picmonkey.com/
Tball Shirts 20L in the Gatcha at Snatch http://slurl.com/secondlife/Snatch%20City/121/191/29
Hair: Truth
Poses: Adorkable
Skin: Ebba from LAQ
Jeans: Mon Tissu
Location: My front yard (I think I’ll hold on the SLurl just this one time)

5 comments on “PicMonkey Virgin

  1. I absolutely love picmonkey! Even if you don’t tweak much beyond a crop and border…it’s a wonderful thing. I try to keep my playing down for the blog but sometimes, I just go nuts with the sliders because it’s fun and for me, very relaxing.

    I’ve started using it for real life photo’s as well that I will be sending away to get printed. I love the collage for that and if you use the ‘facebook’ collage, you can make a header for blogs! They shrink and everything with just a mouse drag over the ‘header’ itself (those little arrow keys show up).

    • I think I’m in the “Oh new shiny” phase still with PicMonkey and playing with everything LOL!
      Blog headers? That’s a good idea, I’ve been wanting to make a new header, an entirely new look actually.
      Thanks for the idea Misty.

      • welcome! and are you kidding me? I used picnik before (same as picmonkey but now closed down) and I still feel like a kid in a candy store when I open up the web page. Have fun with it!

  2. Ha!
    The infamous shirts.
    I laughed. Perfect summary of the spectrum…
    Can’t wait to see what happens now that your creative process is even more streamlined.
    😉

Leave a Reply

