Astronaut Blue Meta Body

I don’t know if the rambling mess that was my last post actually flushed out my Writer’s Block or if the fact that it rained and I finally got a full night sleep cured my blahs, but I was feeling much more in the mood to explore and take pictures today.

I was browsing the Destination Guide and came across an entry for Meta-Body.

In this new project, Meilo Minotaur and CapCat Ragu invite you to rethink your bodies through your avatars, making available all kinds of skins, shapes, body parts, clothes, etc.

That sounded promising, and I really liked the avatar shown on the ad so I went over to see it for myself.  To my surprise, this and all the other Meta-Body avatars were absolutely free.

Meta-Body: See My Inside

As soon as I arrived I realized I’d heard of this before, in fact I’ve seen some of these avatars, but I never did get around to visiting it myself.  I must have lost the landmark in my big bucket list of things to do and see so I was quite happy to have discovered this again.   The notecard for the Meta-Body project describes it better than I could.

The virtual experience of the body is not exactly an experience of the flesh. These sensations, albeit having a physical sensorial aspect, continue to be experienced in our bodies behind the screen, not in our avatar body. The virtual body is a metaphorical body, all language, therefore open to experimentation and possibility.

In this new project, Meilo Minotaur and CapCat Ragu invite us, once again, to rethink our bodies through our avatars, making available all kinds of skins, shapes, body parts, clothes, etc. All these items are fully modifiable, shareable and copyable, thus challenging the audience to become creators and also share their derivative work with us, in the All My Independent Women exhibition. While the avatars are available in the Second Life Sim Delicatessen the pictures and machinimas of the derivative work will be displayed at VBKOE, Vienna, giving us a glimpse of the new creative flux, beyond the concepts of author and work of art, happening online.

Meta-Body: Bird

I’m always fascinated by the choices people make for their avatars and I really enjoyed trying on looks that I never would have chosen for myself despite the wide variety of characters and outfits I put together.  I was even lucky enough to find this Indigo Avatar which although is not exactly the right shade for the Astronaut Blue color challenge, comes close enough that I don’t have to forfeit for the week.

Meta-Body: Indigo

Meta-Body has been open since Semptember 30th so I have no idea how much longer it’s going to be around.  I do recommend stopping by for a visit and seeing how you feel wearing a body that’s outside your normal comfort zone.  As always with these wonderfully free contributions to the SL community, I do want to remind you that there is a tip jar and I’m sure the creators would appreciate it.

The theme song this week is once again brought to you by Riot who chose it simply off the name of the color challenge without having seen my pictures.  I think it turned out to be a pretty good match.

All Avatars available for Free at Meta Body
http://maps.secondlife.com/secondlife/Porto/141/101/703

Poses by Del May

2 comments on “Astronaut Blue Meta Body

  1. Pingback: Wherein Art Intersects with the Intrepid Explorer’s Greed in Second Life « Honour's Post Menopausal View (of Second Life)

  2. Pingback: Normal in Second Life « Rezzing Beauty

Leave a Reply

