Aliens and Rainbows

I’ve said before that Second Life is a procrastinator’s wonderland, and luckily for me I excel at it.  This week it paid off for me as I logged in Friday still unsure what I was going to do for this week’s color challenge of Aqua Island and found that my favorite store, Miel, released a new mesh dress that was not only on for 50L Friday but had a color change hud.  You know how much I love anything color change.

This is definitely my new favorite dress.  It is standard sized, but somehow it fits me so much better than most, especially in around the shoulders.  The belt is really the masterpiece of this dress though.  As much as I love mesh, I do find much of it still lacks in the little details so this is just perfection.

I then needed somewhere to take pictures.  Lately I’ve been using the Destination Guide to find my choices, partially because I find the search function in Second Life a hit and miss gamble at the best of times, but also because I’m doing a sim crawl of sorts and visiting everything in the Guide.

I don’t know that I fully understand how things get on here.  Do the sim owners submit the entries themselves?  Is there vetting or maintenance processes of any sort?  I find a lot of great places here, some not so great, some of the listings no longer exist and I’m quite confident there is a lot more to see and do than this guide reflects.  I definitely want to learn more about how this works, I think this is an under utilized resource that needs more entries.

In any case, today I came across a listing for the Alien Abduction Trailer Park. Really?  Well this I had to see.

Aliens

I have to say it’s one of the more charming places I’ve visited in Second Life, and in reality it’s a shopping district with stores like Pig, silentsparrow, Schadenfreude, and MiaSnow.  From the description I’m going to say it used to be the Starlust Motel, but I love what they’ve done with it.

We, or at least I, seem to get our minds set to certain ideas when we want to photograph places in Second Life.  I tend to look for sims to photograph that are artistic and creative, or stunning in their realism, or breathtaking in their presentation of natural or magical beauty.  I’m usually looking for roleplay sim or art installations, not stores and shopping districts, but this is obviously an oversight on my part.  I know that creators put a lot of time into their venues, I really should explore more of them.  I also rarely go looking for quirky or fun, and you know, considering quirky could more or less by my middle name, I don’t know why I don’t.  I’m really glad I stumbled upon the Alien Abduction Trailer Park, it reminded me of a completely different kind of wonderful build in Second Life, the kind that can only be experienced there.

I spent a couple of hours touring the various stores, cracking up at the giant pig, soaking my feet in a stream of lily pads, and then eventually came upon a rainbow.  It seemed quite fitting to photograph it.

So what is at the end of the rainbow you ask?

The End of the Rainbow

Well apparently, just me.

Credits:
REGATTA DRESS with color change hud from MIEL
Earrings:  UVA earrings subscribomatic gift from MIEL
Skin:  Giselle Light Kajira by -Glam Affair – (previously available at The Dressing Room) and I had quite a chuckle that is was named Kajira considering I spent three years in Gorean roleplay.  You can take the girl out of Gor, but I guess you can’t take Gor off the girl.
Floral Pink Clutch Purse with pose from [Echo]
Hair:  Evelyn w/Roots – champagne from >TRUTH<
Eyes: Ellis-Lavender from [LeLutka]
Pose in the second picture is from Olive Juice (no longer available)

Location:  Alien Abduction Trailer Park at Two Moons and Lusty Stars Island
http://maps.secondlife.com/secondlife/Twomoons%20Island/79/148/23

Leave a Reply

