Simple Charcoal

The seasons changed while I was away and I found myself searching my inventory for something fall’ish.  Apparently that’s not a word, but I’m using it anyway.  I suppose there is no real reason to change your wardrobe for the seasons in Second Life, but I was just feeling the urge for winter colors and snuggly fabrics.  ColdLogic must have read my mind because the very day I decided that I needed a change they released a line of sweater dresses that was the best of both worlds.  I could have my mini skirts and rich fabrics all in one.  So many styles and colors to chose from, but I went with Seymour in Coal because Luna Jubilee’s 52 week’s of color challenge this week is Charcoal.  In fairness, you may see a few others over the coming weeks, but for today this is the one.

Percocette

I love to wear sweater dresses with tights and knee high boots so the quest to put together an outfit began with trying on all the boots in my inventory. When I added my go-to favourite Miel Far Boots I loved the contrast of the softness of the sweater fabrics and the hardness of a combat like boot. From there, with the idea of contrasts in mind, I began to add various items that shouldn’t really have worked but in my mind did. The final touch of the necklace of books was mostly for my own amusement. As this character came together for me I imagined her as a Librarian who snapped. Turtleneck sweater, glasses, hair in a bun… smoking a cigarette and packing a gun. Why not. If you can’t go crazy here, where can you?

I needed a perfect setting for my Librarian Who Snapped and after scanning the LEA blog I chose Cica Ghost’s Black and White world.  The line drawings reminded me of the artwork in children’s book but when I got there I was stunned with the sophistication of the experience.  The simplicity of this concept of the drawings and black and white palette combined with actual moving parts and interactive displays creates the most fantastic effect.  In this world, our avatars are what’s “real” living in and interacting with a drawing.  I know I’ve said this before, but sometimes in Second Life we admire realism, from skins to builds, but it takes a special kind of talent to make the unreal this beautiful.

Simple

As any regular reader knows, no blog post of mine is complete without an appearance by Serendipity.  This one comes as I was musing about the very concept of simplicity and then realized this week’s Single Frame Story challenge was the word Simple.  This look, this sim, this photo shoot, was going to provide material for two challenges.  I can take very little credit for the story  above, the location provided it all, I just chose a pose from Del May that I felt conveyed her reaction at seeing the rain of hearts, the men jumping up and down to get her attention, and ultimately the couple in the background that she’s focused on.

LEA builds are tricky, I’m never quite certain how long they will be around, so I encourage you to go see Cica Ghost’s Black and White World as soon as you can.  From the interactive places to sit, to watching a cyclist do laps around you, it’s something you have to see to understand.

For Real?

Simple.
Charcoal.
I think my work here is done.

Credits:

Hair: Amacci Hair Nami ~ Burnt Orange + Black (Halloween Gift)
Dress: coldLogic – seymour.coal (NEW)
Boots: MIEL Far Boots Solid (with color change menu)
Leg Strap and Gun: .:.*{ S.G }*.:. Legband with Gun (part of Jill outfit from Severed Garden)
Skin: *League* Isla Medium Peach Blonde
Eyes: [LeLutka]-Ellis-Lavender
Necklace: (Yummy) Classic Literature Necklace
Glasses: :::Sn@tch Dolores Cateye Glasses:::
Cigarette: [VIRTUAL/INSANITY] LUCKY STROKE Ciggie Curacao
Pose2: “Never” by Del May
Pose3: “Mime/Marcel Marceau” by Del May
Location: CICA LEA 13
http://maps.secondlife.com/secondlife/LEA13/210/46/21

One comment on “Simple Charcoal

  1. Pingback: Challenge 13 Gallery: Simple « Single Frame Stories

Leave a Reply

