With Love from The Wastelands

It’s that time of year again, the busy time.  If it’s not baking or school concerts, it’s shopping or visiting friends and family.  My preferred down time after a long hectic day is to escape and unwind in Second Life but lately it feels just as busy online as off.

There are quite a few big hunts, sales and events going on right now, the two I’m most excited about are the Peace on Earth Hunt  and the With Love Hunt.  Thanks to the Hint List  from Chic Management and the photo previews of the gifts on Seraphim  I managed to finish the With Love hunt.  The gifts aren’t free, but at 10L each they are a remarkably generous bargain.

I was unpacking my boxes and trying things on when this look naturally came together almost exclusively from With Love items.  Perhaps it’s all the talk of the world ending, or maybe it was just this fabulous hat, but something inspired me to revisit Wastelands to do this photoshoot.

My Support

As with every set I do, poses are my number one concern.  I can’t ever have enough poses.  They are what makes the image, tells the story, conveys the feeling.  I’m excited beyond belief that TWO major pose makers have advent calendars this month with daily gifts; both Adorkable and Exposeur.  I haven’t been online every day so I’ve missed a few, but the ones I’ve collected have been very worthwhile and Exposeur has even included some male poses and couples poses.

Is it bad that I find myself hoping I can log in for at least a few minutes every day just so that I can run out and get my poses?  I think it might be.  It’s not unusual for me to go a couple of days without logging in, but I’ll confess these last few weeks there has been an outburst or two when I realized I’d miss a calendar pose due to some internet problems I’ve been having.  I have issues.  I know this.

The Fissure

It’s been a couple years since I visited the Wastelands and I’m not really sure why I waited so long.  I suspect it’s partially because I’ve been a bit reluctant to explore or feature roleplay sims.  The few times since I started this project that I did visit an RP sim I got a strange sentimental urge to write stories again.  In truth, it got me down a bit.  Being around players in costumed characters and period settings, even as an observer, makes me miss the bonds, connections and communities I had for so long as a roleplayer.  I know I don’t have the time to commit to a character or sim anymore, so visiting them is a bit hard, sort of like going to at a buffet on a diet I guess.

The Road Ahead

Wastelands is so much more than just a place to write and dress up though, it’s a community, many of the players actually live there.  Their mishmash of camps, abandoned vehicles and outposts lends itself perfectly to the vibe and to the feeling of immersion.  It’s changed a lot since the last time I was there, as is normal I expect with the growth of mesh and the changeover in renters, but it still feels like the Wastelands.  I think it will always feel like the Wastelands and that sense of continuity is something I sometimes miss in Second Life.  Sims, stores and people come and go in our virtual lives, as is to be expected, but instead of chasing the new shiny I’m glad I took the time to reacquaint myself with what really is part of Second Life history.

Walls

Yes, that’s a wall.  I took a picture of a wall, a partial wall at that.  I wish I could explain why but I don’t even know.  Of all the remarkable things to see in the Wastelands this wall spoke to me.  I’m embarrassed to tell you how much time I spent there, but let’s just say I climbed the wall, I sat on the wall, I layed down next to the wall, I cammed it from every angle and tried every single one of my 300+ windlight settings before finally taking this picture.  The original is pretty close to this, but I decided to open it in Picmonkey to play around with contrast, sharpness and coloring and ended up with this final result.  It has an uncanny realism to it don’t you think?  I have no idea how I did it, I will probably never be able to recreate this effect because I was just clicking buttons, but I’m really happy with it.

I reluctantly left the wall and continued my walk across the Wastelands when I saw a camp in the distance.  As I got closer I noticed a figure sitting by the fire and before long the familiar guitar of none other than SL musician Gypsy Quixote.

Gypsy

For those of you who have followed this blog from the beginning you may remember me mentioning Gypsy in the past.  I first met him at Burn2 last year, then again at SL9B, and a couple of times in between.  It’s really strange, though I used to follow Gypsy on Twitter back when I tweeted more often, I don’t have him on my friend list in SL.  We don’t seem to travel in the same circles or groups and yet, every few months, I will stumble across him out of nowhere.  I had no idea he lived in Wastelands and he was probably the last person on my mind as I was walking across the desert but there he was.  I took a seat and chatted for a few, mostly just laughing about these bizarre coincidences that keep putting us in each other’s path, and then with a grin I headed out again.

I didn’t send him a friend invite, in fact I think if I did something about Second Life would fundamentally change for me.  I like knowing that at anytime, anywhere on the grid, I might see a guitar playing Gypsy when I least expect it.  Random chance might not seem like continuity, but I’m starting to believe that it is the common thread that weaves my virtual life into the quilt I’ve come to love.

I should have warned you, I mixed metaphors, badly.  Let’s just call it part of my charm.

With Love Hunt Items are 10L each:
Hat: KAZAKH cap -Wool black with Pins [sYs]
Skin: Roza Basic -Europa – With ❤ Glam Affair
Face and Body Piercings: Fire In The Water Prt. 1 and Prt. 2 – Midnight- .HoD.
Dress: DN: With Love 2012 – Dress Ducknipple
Leg Tattoo :[P]:-Haila Tattoo [P] ://Complex-Full Dot 50 [Plastik]
Leg Tinting: :[P]:-Demon Fades- S-Mulberri [Plastik]
Eyes: VaeColl.-Remnant [Plastik]

Poses: Adorkable Advent Calendar Gifts
Boots (not part of the hunt) MIEL Far Boots

Location:  The Wastelands

http://maps.secondlife.com/secondlife/The%20Wastelands/134/152/72

Leave a Reply

