Courting My Muse at Ukulhas Island

Twice this week I logged in, no small feat in itself lately, and I had not only an inspiration, but a plan.  I wanted to finish the photoshoot and story that I gave of hint of in my Create a Character Challenge.  Location, check.  Outfit, check.  Poses, check.  Inspiration, check.  Then it happened.  Distraction.

Those are the moments I wish I had more experience being in touch with my creative side, a stronger bond with my muse, but alas when I pause to deal with the distraction I look back and she’s gone.  A fickle thing she is, possessive too, she refuses to share me anyone or anything.  If I even momentarily give my attention to something else she leaves me, sometimes for days.  The harder I chase or the tighter I hold, the more fleeting she becomes.

Fleeting

Both times I logged off because there isn’t much point lingering, once she leaves she won’t be back and her sudden departures tend to make me sullen and snarky.  It feels a lot like being stood up.  Sure you could do something else, but who wants to?  I can’t, I won’t, blame anyone else but myself.  I’m sure that most people can multitask, create and socialize at the same time, but I’m not one of them.

Second Life viewers gives us tools like marking ourselves as busy or autoresponse, but those don’t work well for me.  Much like a ringing phone, I have to answer it.  Even if I decide not to answer, to let it go to voice mail, two minutes later I’m checking messages anyway.  Same thing for IMs, notices and group chat; it’s just not possible for me to just ignore them.  For the thousandth time I find myself wishing Second Life was like so many other programs out there and gave you the ability to log in but appear offline.  To be invisible for a time.

Muses in the Night Sky

I love my friends and the people in my virtual world, but my own inability to multitask means I sometimes have to revert to plan B, the non entity.  I don’t call it my alt, though I do have several of those, my non entity is a shell account created solely for those times I need to get something done.  It has no friend list, no profile, no inventory.

A downside of my non-entity is that I can’t photograph my avatar, not unless I want to show off the latest library items, but it gives me the freedom to explore locations and get ideas to use in future posts.  This time, rather than stockpile those ideas and return with my regular avatar, I let the environment itself be the subject.

Muses in the Wild

These were taken at Ukulhas Island, a wonderful build filled with whimsy and inspiration.  I particularly like that it has poseballs and dances hidden here and there.  Locations with things to click and opportunities to be part of environment always make me feel more comfortable.  Like a bench at museum I guess, it invites the viewer to make themselves at home instead of just standing there looking at the art.

As usual, I’ve taken a considerable amount of liberty with windlight, angles and draw distance so I encourage you to visit and see it yourself.  You never know what you might glimpse out of the corner of your eye.

Ukulhas Island  http://maps.secondlife.com/secondlife/Ukulhas%20Island/47/132/34

One comment on “Courting My Muse at Ukulhas Island

Leave a Reply

