Happy Mood Hunting

It’s been an unusually difficult and stressful few weeks recently for me, both online and off. It’s rare and unfortunate when that’s the case in both venues because I can’t use one to escape the other. Frying pan or fire? Not the most tempting of choices.

I opted for door number three, a distraction from my regular virtual life and so I started attending the Virtual Artist Alliance’s Photohunts again. I’ve only been to two so far, but I was reminded how much I enjoyed them.

Beneath the Surface

Last week’s theme was Soft and we were given a landmark for Happy Mood. It’s been a while since I’d been there, but what a pleasant rediscovery it was. I was so preoccupied with exploring every hidden corner and sitting on every swing and stump I could find that I forgot to take any pictures until the hour was half over. The picture above and below are some of the many shots I ended up saving to my desktop; they didn’t represent the theme very well so I didn’t enter them, but I’m really pleased with the surreal and abstract nature Happy Mood inspired in me.

Roots

In the end it was this bunny that said soft to me. Perhaps a bit cliché but I couldn’t help myself. Something about the way he is peeking around the corner of books just made me smile.

Soft

The Virtual Artist Alliance hosts two Photohunts each week. The Wednesday night event is at 6pm SLT which is the one I have been trying to attend when I’m able, but there is another on Monday mornings at 11:30 am. If you haven’t been to one before, they are very easy to get involved in. Just show up at the Virtual Artists gallery about 10 minutes before the start time and ask the host to register your name on the board.

Once everyone is gathered we are given a landmark and usually a theme and one hour to take pictures and submit our best, unedited, to the contest board. Then we vote. There are prizes for first, second and third, the amount of the prize comes from donations. For me though, it’s not about the prize, in fact last week I had to log out before I even heard who won. I find it an excellent way to explore the grid, meet new people, and challenge myself to take pictures I might not normally take.

PhotoHunting

Virtual Artist Alliance Gallery http://maps.secondlife.com/secondlife/Afar/179/173/2667

Happy Mood is also a business, much of what you see there is for sale and I picked up some grasses and plants to decorate my beach parcel so I can keep some of that feeling with me at all times.  http://maps.secondlife.com/secondlife/HappyMood/112/156/22%20HPMD

Here’s my song this week, I had it on constant repeat while taking the pictures. Maybe that explains how colorful they are but I must confess, that big white tree at Happy Mood was speaking to me much in the way it’s described starting at about 3:50 to 4:30.

4 comments on “Happy Mood Hunting

  1. What a fun idea! My early wednesday evenings open up after Easter, and this looks like a fun activity. Thanks for sharing it and hope your lives settle down for you. I find hanggliding and parachuting work well for me when I want to get away. Let me know if you ever want to give out a try….

  2. Pingback: Photohunts in Second Life - a chance to try your developing skills! | Second Life - Photography | Scoop.it

Leave a Reply

